Opera Bonanza

Opera Bonanza

Ciao, Opera Mavens. This morning, Sat May 13, the Vienna Staatsoper presented a gorgeous Eugene Onegin beautifully sung by Christopher Maltman, Olga Bezsmertna, and Pavol Brezlik. It will remain available only for

the next couple of days. Highly recommended.

Alberto Ginastera

Also, the very rare 1967 Spanish opera Bomarzo, by Argentine composer Alberto Ginastera is now available on The Opera Platform. The opera is essentially a nightmare in this stunning Pierre Audi production.

From Bergen National Opera, Norway, Il Turco in Italia in a Comedia del Arte production. Only through May 14th.

 

An OperaBobb Sidebar. If you’re a fan of Steven Sondheim and Follies, you’ll likely enjoy this new production from L’Opera de Toulon.

Enjoy!

Cool Links to Fun Stuff

Ciao, Opera Mavens. Here are some of our favorite websites with interesting insights and useful information:

Arts Journal: Arts, Culture, Ideas  www.artsjournal.com
Free daily or weekly newsletters on a variety of wide-ranging topics

Barihunks  http://barihunks.blogspot.com
Dare we say “sexy” blog featuring our favorite bad boys of opera? (Yes, they cover basses too!)

Beyond Criticism   www.beyondcriticism.com
Articles on performing and fine arts by cultural commentator Matthew Gurewitsch

Classical Review  http://theclassicalreview.com/
Music critic Larry Johnson’s one-stop online source for classical music coverage

Iron Tongue of Midnight  http://irontongue.blogspot.com/
Blog by Lisa Hirsch, an Oakland-based opera geek and semi-professional musician

Opera America  www.operaamerica.org
Bottomless well of resources, publications, online courses, and even a video library

Opera Glass  http://opera.stanford.edu/main.html
Stanford site, good source for libretti, source texts, synopses, composer bios, etc.

Opera Lively  www.operalively.com
New website with amazing depth of content including original news articles, exclusive interviews, and public forums on a wide variety of topics

Opera News  www.operanews.com/
Online version of monthly publication of the Metropolitan Opera Guild

Opera Platform  www.theoperaplatform.eu/en/
Fifteen opera companies have joined forces to stream a “European opera season online” with a new production offered every month

Opera San Jose Blog  www.operasj.org/blog/
Insights and interviews relating to OSJ’s productions

Opera Sleuth  www.artsjournal.com/operasleuth/
New blog “on the art of Opera” by Speight Jenkins, who recently retired after 31 years as General Director of Seattle Opera

Opera Spoofa  http://operaspoofa.wordpress.com/
When you need a good laugh from “The Surprising World of Opera Humour ”

Opera Tattler  www.operatattler.com
Reviews, breaking local news, and season schedules for west coast opera companies

Opera War Horses  www.operawarhorses.com
Dedicated to “the standard repertory” (operas first produced between 1786 and 1926)

Operabase  www.operabase.com
Amazing database: search for specific performances, artists, and company schedules

Operacast  www.operacast.com
Lists audio opera broadcasts on the Internet for the upcoming week

Operacat  www.operacat.com
Lists of free streaming opera videos currently online

Parterre Box  www.parterre.com
Campy but insightful blog & archived podcasts from the NYC-based “La Cieca”

San Francisco Classical Voice  www.sfcv.org
Weekly newsletter includes News, Reviews, Previews, and even free mp3 Downloads

San Francisco Opera Blog  http://sfopera.com/blog/
Unique insights into the world of SFO

San Francisco Opera Facebook Page  www.facebook.com/SFOpera
Public site accessible to all and updated daily with news, interviews, photos, and videos

San Francisco Opera Performance Archive  http://archive.sfopera.com
Searchable database of all SFO productions with dates, cast, crew, and more

San Francisco Opera YouTube Channel  www.youtube.com/user/sfoperamedia
Excerpts from current and past productions, “Behind the Voice” interviews with singers, “Behind the Scenes” sneak peaks at sets and costumes, and “First Opera Kiss” series

San Jose Opera Guild  www.sjoperaguild.org
Comprehensive “Lecture & Event” calendar and “Opera in SF Bay Area” schedules

Wagner Society of Northern California  www.wagnersf.org
Local wellspring of knowledge for all things Wagnerian

Enjoy!